## Superintendent Screening Committee Executive Session Meeting Minutes February 23, 2023 Virtual Zoom Meeting

## RECEIVED TOWN CLERK BELMONT, MA

DATE: June 13, 2023 TIME: 2:29 PM

14 Committee members present - Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao, Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, John Sullivan, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington

Non-Committee Members present from The Bryan Group - Alison Freeman, John Freeman

At 7:10 PM, Chair Watson moved that the Superintendent Screening Committee convene in Executive Session for purpose 8: to consider applicants for employment and so the chair declares that an open meeting will have a detrimental effect in obtaining qualified applicants for the next superintendent of the Belmont Public Schools and will reconvene in Open Session. Second by Heather Rubeski. Roll call vote: unanimous approval 14-0, (aye): Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao, Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington

All members attest they are alone in a location where no one else may hear this portion of the meeting.

IDENTIFICATION OF SEMI-FINALIST CANDIDATES for the position of Superintendent of the Belmont Public Schools. Small groups reviewed applicant materials, scored each based on the rubric, and met to determine which candidates should move forward based on the scores. Each small group provided the scores and their recommendations to the Bryan Group who compiled the scores and provided the final scores and overall recommendations to the group.

Approved motion made by Meg Moriarty and seconded by Rachel Watson to move candidate 4, 7, and 12 for the next phase of interviews. Roll call vote: unanimous approval 14-0, (aye): Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao, Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington.

Alison Freeman announced that candidate 16 who had entered the process late, was reviewed using the same process, and received one "yes" and one "maybe" to move forward as a semi-finalist. After group discussion an approved motion made by John Sullivan and seconded by Rachel Watson to move candidate 16 forward to interviews. Roll call vote: unanimous approval 14-0, (aye): Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao,

Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington.

Alison Freeman announced that candidate 10 also received a "yes" and a "maybe" recommendation from small group and whether that candidate would move forward would be discussed by those groups at a later meeting because the members of those groups were unable to attend this meeting. After discussion how to proceed, an approved motion made John Sullivan and seconded by Heather Rubeski to accept the recommendation Group C and G on candidate number 10. Roll call vote: unanimous approval 14-0, (aye): Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao, Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington.

At 7:55 pm, Chair Watson moved to adjourn executive session and return to Open Session. Motion seconded by Kim Haley-Jackson. Roll call vote: unanimous approval 14-0, (aye): Amy Checkoway, Roy Epstein, Nomita Ganguly, Michael Gao,

Haley-Jackson, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Mike McAllister, Meg Moriarty, Heather Rubeski, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Chon'tel Washington.

Respectfully submitted by:

Meg Moriarty Member Date Approved: March 20, 2023