RECEIVED TOWN CLERK BELMONT, MA

DATE: June 12, 2023 TIME: 9:59 AM

Superintendent Screening Committee March 6, 2023 Hybrid Meeting Executive Session Minutes

21 Members Present: Ade Baptista, Amy Checkoway, Tomas Estrada Donahue, Michael Gao, Nomita Ganguly, Mark Guzelian, Kim Haley-Jackson, Gi Yoon-Huang, Jeff Liberty, Geoffrey Lubien, Russell Mann, Meg Moriarty, Heidi Paisner, William Pennington, Heather Rubeski, Ramneek Saxena, Artemis Tingos, Rachel Watson, Roy Epstein (virtual), Michael McAllister, Chontel Washington. (Absent – John Sullivan). Roy Epstein attested to being alone.

Non-Committee Members present from The Bryan Group - Alison Freeman

The Superintendent Screening Committee convened in Executive Session for **purpose 8**: to consider applicants for employment and so the chair, Rachel Watson, declared that an open meeting would have a detrimental effect in obtaining qualified applicants for the next superintendent of the Belmont Public Schools. (see open session minutes for roll call vote)

Ali Freeman announced that members had been informed earlier that day that Applicant 16 withdrew from the process for another offer. She went through each of the 4 remaining semifinalists (order of discussion and vote: 4, 7, 10, 12), SSC members provided evidence from the long interviews of the roles and competencies, and votes were taken for each to move forward as a finalist to the SC, or not. To move forward a semifinalist needed ½ vote of approval.

Rachel Watson motioned to advance applicant #4 to the Belmont SC as a finalist for the position of superintendent, seconded by Roy Epstein. Roll Call: Ade Baptista (aye), Amy Checkoway (aye), Tomas Estrada Donahue (aye), Michael Gao (aye), Nomita Ganguly (aye), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (nay), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (aye), Russell Mann (aye), Mike McAllister (nay), Meg Moriarty (nay), Heidi Paisner (aye), William Pennington (aye), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (aye), Artemis Tingos (aye), Chon'tel Washington (nay), Rachel Watson (aye), Roy Epstein (aye). (aye: 17; nay: 4)

Rachel Watson motioned to advance applicant #7 to the SC as a finalist for the position of superintendent, seconded by Kim Haley-Jackson. Ade Baptista (nay), Amy Checkoway (nay), Tomas Estrada Donahue (nay), Michael Gao (nay), Nomita Ganguly (nay), Mark Guzelian (nay), Kim Haley-Jackson (nay), Gi Yoon-Huang (nay), Jeff Liberty (nay), Geoffrey Lubien (nay), Russell Mann (nay), Mike McAllister (nay), Meg Moriarty (nay), Heidi Paisner (nay), William Pennington (nay), Heather Rubeski (nay), Ramneek Saxena (nay), Artemis Tingos (nay), Chon'tel Washington (nay), Rachel Watson (nay), Roy Epstein (nay). (aye: o; nay: 21)

Rachel Watson motioned to advance applicant #10 to the SC as a finalist for the position of superintendent, seconded by Gi Yoon-Huang. Ade Baptista (nay), Amy Checkoway (nay), Tomas Estrada Donahue (nay), Michael Gao (nay), Nomita Ganguly (nay), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (aye), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (nay), Russell Mann (nay), Mike McAllister (nay), Meg Moriarty (nay), Heidi Paisner (nay), William Pennington (nay), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (nay), Artemis Tingos (nay), Chon'tel Washington (nay), Rachel Watson (aye), Roy Epstein (nay). (aye: 6; nay: 15)

Rachel Watson motioned to advance applicant #12 to the SC as a finalist for the position of superintendent, seconded by Jeff Liberty. Ade Baptista (aye), Amy Checkoway (nay), Tomas Estrada Donahue (aye), Michael Gao (nay), Nomita Ganguly (nay), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (aye), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (nay), Russell Mann (nay), Mike McAllister (nay), Meg Moriarty (nay), Heidi Paisner (aye), William Pennington (aye), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (nay), Artemis Tingos (aye), Chon'tel Washington (nay), Rachel Watson (aye), Roy Epstein (nay). (aye: 11; nay: 10)

The SSC deliberated about moving only 1 semifinalist forward to the SC, which does not provide the SC with a pool of candidates. There was discussion about the $\frac{2}{3}$ versus majority vote requirement and specifics of candidate #12 who had the majority vote of approval, but not a $\frac{2}{3}$ vote of approval.

After some deliberation on the qualifications and fit of candidate #12, Amy Checkoway motioned to reconsider applicant #12, seconded by Gi Yoon-Huang. Roll call: Ade Baptista (aye), Amy Checkoway (aye), Tomas Estrada Donahue (aye), Michael Gao (aye), Nomita Ganguly (aye), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (aye), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (nay), Russell Mann (nay), Mike McAllister (aye), Meg Moriarty (aye), Heidi Paisner (aye), William Pennington (aye), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (aye), Artemis Tingos (aye), Chon'tel Washington (aye), Rachel Watson (aye), Roy Epstein (nay). (aye: 17; nay: 4)

The vote to reconsider passed.

Rachel Watson motioned to advance applicant #12 to the SC as a finalist for the position of superintendent, seconded by Mark Guzelian. Roll Call: Ade Baptista (aye), Amy Checkoway (abstain), Tomas Estrada Donahue (aye), Michael Gao (aye), Nomita Ganguly (nay), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (aye), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (nay), Russell Mann (nay), Mike McAllister (aye), Meg Moriarty (aye), Heidi Paisner (aye), William Pennington (aye), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (aye), Artemis Tingos (aye), Chon'tel Washington (nay), Rachel Watson (aye), Roy Epstein (nay). (aye: 15; nay: 5, abstain: 1)

Applicants 4 and 12 move forward as finalists to the SC because they have a 2/3rds vote of approval by the SSC. The SSC will not recommend semifinalists 10 or 7 to the Belmont SC because they did not receive a 2/3 vote of approval.

At 9:20 PM Jeff Liberty motioned to adjourn the executive session and return to Open session. Seconded by Geoff Lubien. Roll Call vote approval: Ade Baptista (aye), Amy Checkoway (aye), Tomas Estrada Donahue (aye), Michael Gao (aye), Nomita Ganguly (aye), Mark Guzelian (aye), Kim Haley-Jackson (aye), Gi Yoon-Huang (aye), Jeff Liberty (aye), Geoffrey Lubien (aye), Russell Mann (aye), Mike McAllister (aye), Meg Moriarty (aye), Heidi Paisner (aye), William Pennington (aye), Heather Rubeski (aye), Ramneek Saxena (aye), Artemis Tingos (aye), Chon'tel Washington (aye), Roy Epstein (aye). (20-0)

Respectfully submitted by:

Meg Moriarty Member Date Approved: March 20, 2023